Poet honoured for Waitangi Day

Acclaimed poet and scholar, Selina Tusitala-Marsh, has been made Honorary Literary Fellow in the New Zealand Society of Authors' annual Waitangi Day Honours.

"As the country's largest writers' organisation, we believe it's important to celebrate significant literary achievements, especially on the international stage," said NZSA President, Kyle Mewburn. "Each year more and more kiwi writers are achieving exceptional things internationally. Last year was no exception."

Entries for the 2017 Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust Mind Body Spirit Literature Awards Open Soon

Entries for the 2017 Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust Mind Body Spirit Literature Awards open on January 15th. These prestigious awards offer a first prize of $10,000 in the Published Book Award, and a separate prize of the same value is for the year's best Unpublished Manuscript Award.
Entries in both categories close on March 31st 2017.
For entry forms, criteria and conditions of entry for the 2017 Awards, please visit 

Stephen Daisley Selected as 2017 Randell Cottage Writer in Residence

Perth-based writer Stephen Daisley is to be the 2017 Creative New Zealand Randell Cottage Writing Fellow. Daisley hit New Zealand headlines last year, when his second novel, Coming Rain, took out the inaugural Acorn Foundation Literary Prize.* Although an unknown quantity in his homeland, Daisley has won or been short- and long-listed for major Australian literary awards, including the Prime Minister’s Literary Award for Fiction for his first novel, Traitor, the 2016 Miles Franklin Award and the 2011 Commonwealth Writers prize for best first book.

Get your pens and laptops out, the 2017 Text Prize is coming! It’s our 10th Anniversary!

Submissions for the 2017 Text Prize open 3 January 2017. Download the entry form here.
For all you established and budding authors of the YA and children’s literary scene, here’s the lowdown on the 2017 Tenth Annual Text Prize. We’ve got lots in store for this milestone year.
The $10,000 Text Prize aims to discover incredible new books for young adults and children by Australian and New Zealand writers. This year is our tenth prize and we couldn’t be more proud of that fact.

Bold new novel wins Adam Prize

In a strong year for new writing at Victoria University of Wellington’s International Institute of Modern Letters (IIML), a risk-taking, wildly funny, ‘powerful and troubling’ novel has been awarded the 2016 Adam Foundation Prize in Creative Writing.
Annaleese Jochems, 22, wrote the winning book, And Lower, as part of her 2016 Master of Arts (MA) at the IIML. 

2017 Grimshaw Sargeson Fellows announced

New Zealand poets Steven Toussaint and Gregory Kan have been awarded the prestigious 2017 Grimshaw Sargeson Fellowship. This is the first time two poets have been the recipients of the fellowship.
The poets will have the opportunity to focus on their craft full-time, with each having a six-month tenure at the Sargeson Centre in Auckland, and sharing an annual stipend of $20,000.

New Zealand Content Counts Education Awards 2016 - winners named

Recipients of the 2016 New Zealand Content Counts Education Awards were named at a ceremony held at Auckland’s Massey University in Albany last night. For the second year running, teachers from around the country joined the official panel of education experts and cast their votes to add their choice of best resources to the judge’s selection. 
The awards celebrate the excellent resources New Zealand companies have recently released in the New Zealand education market. The finalists this year are a mix of digital resources alongside traditional texts - a reflection of the range of materials that our teachers are using in today’s classrooms.

Michael King Writers’ Centre 2017 Residency Recipients Announced

Four writers selected for the residency programme at the Michael King Writers’ Centre next year will be bringing to life a variety of works including; literary fiction, a novella, non-fiction biography and a collection of poetry.
The award-winning writers selected for the four residencies at the Devonport writers’ retreat are short story writer and poet, Frankie McMillan from Christchurch, novelist and playwright Whiti Hereaka from Wellington, critic and journalist Anthony Byrt from Auckland and Anna Jackson an Associate Professor in English at Victoria University, Wellington. 

UC Honorary Doctorate for NZ author-artist

New Zealand children’s author, illustrator and educator Gavin Bishop, ONZM, will receive an honorary doctorate from his alma mater at the University of Canterbury’s Education, Health and Human Development graduation ceremony on Wednesday 14 December.
The multiple award-winner is a graduate of the University of Canterbury’s School of Fine Arts and was recognised in the 2013 New Year honours for his contribution to Literature with the awarding of an ONZM.

Final NZSA Janet Frame Memorial Award goes to Laurence Fearnley

NZSA is delighted to announce Laurence Fearnley as the recipient of the Janet Frame Memorial Award 2016
The NZ Society of Authors Janet Frame Memorial Award of $3,000 is awarded to an author of literary or imaginative fiction or poetry with the purpose of supporting a mid-career or established writer in furthering their literary career.