Arts Foundation Laureates and New Generation Award-winners, Menton Fellow announced

Eleven artists, two philanthropists and four arts organisations are recipients of awards and donations at the 2016 New Zealand Arts Awards. Come and celebrate the Laureate and New Generation Awards, Harriet Friedlander New York Residency, the Award for Patronage and the Katherine Mansfield Menton Fellowship with us.

Congratulations to:

2016 Laureate Award Recipients
Each Laureate Award includes a cash award of $50,000:

Eleanor Catton – Writer
Lyell Cresswell – Composer
Dylan Horrocks – Cartoonist/Graphic Novelist/Writer
Peter Robinson – Visual Artist
Taika Waititi  – Film Maker

About the Laureate Award:

Airini Beautrais wins Landfall Essay Competition 2016

Airini Beautrais has been named the winner of the 2016 Landfall Essay Competition for her essay ‘Umlaut’.
Competition judge David Eggleton said that her essay stood out as ‘written by someone unwilling to be boring, willing to take risks, and enough of a seasoned practitioner to carry it off with sustained verve’:

Finalists showcase strength of locally created educational resources

The New Zealand Content Counts Education Awards celebrate the quality and diversity of educational resources released in the past year by New Zealand companies to support classroom learning. The awards recognise the standout contributions made by New Zealand resource providers in both New Zealand classrooms and overseas.

Kiwi writer Stefanie Seddon wins 2016 Bristol Short Story Prize

Former Otago University student, Stefanie Seddon (pictured below), has won the 2016 Bristol Short Story Prize, an international writing competition open to writers worldwide. Stefanie, originally from New Zealand and now based in Kent in the UK, won with her story, Kākahu.
The prestigious international writing competition, now in its 9th year, received 2,160 entries from writers around the world.
The judging panel was chaired by celebrated writer, creative writing teacher and performer, Tania Hershman. Tania was joined on the panel by literary agent, Juliet Pickering; writer, Niven Govinden and award-winning bookshop owner, Simon Key.

Finalists in NZ Heritage Week Book & Writing Awards announced

Last night, Christchurch book store Scorpio Books hosted the announcement of the finalists in the NZ Heritage Week Book & Writng Awards. The judges or their representatives spoke about the quality and diversity of the entries which came from across New Zealand.
The winners will be announced on 22 October at 4pm, 166 Colombo Street, Christchurch and we invite all to attend. The finalists are:
Fiction Book -
The Last Time We Spoke, by Fiona Sussman, pub. Allison & Busby
All Day at the Movies, by Fiona Kidman, pub. Vintage
Scarlet & Magenta, by Lindsey Dawson, pub. Out Loud Press

2016 Prime Minister's Awards for Literary Achievement: Winners Announced

The recipients of the Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement for 2016 have been announced today. Writers Atholl Anderson, Marilyn Duckworth and David Eggleton will each be awarded $60,000 in recognition of their outstanding contribution to New Zealand literature. 

Michael King Writers' Centre Residencies still open

The Michael King Writers’ Centre invites applications from New Zealand writers for four supported residencies in 2017, with stipends ranging from $8,000 to $30,000.
The residencies are at the Michael King Writers’ Centre, based in the Signalman’s House, a heritage villa on Takarunga Mt Victoria in Devonport.

Excellence in Māori storytelling celebrated

The importance of Māori telling their own stories has been celebrated with Massey University’s expanded Ngā Kupu Ora Awards: Celebrating Māori Books and Journalism. 
For the first time in the Awards’ eight year history journalism was added as a category to the five book categories. Newshub reporter Maiki Sherman was named Māori Journalist of the Year for stories she produced while working for Māori Television with Native Affairs reporter Iulia Leilua highly commended. 

The Fishes of New Zealand wins prestigious international award

The Fishes of New Zealand has been awarded the 2016 Whitley Medal for outstanding publication in Australasian zoology by The Royal Zoological Society of New South Wales. The medal is regarded as Australia's highest award for zoological publishing and this is the first time it has been won by a New Zealand publication.
Written and edited by Te Papa’s fish team of Clive Roberts, Andrew Stewart and Carl Struthers, and published by Te Papa Press in November 2015, the four-volume book is the culmination of decades of collecting and research by the three Te Papa–based scientists, in collaboration with more than 40 specialists worldwide.

Writing on Climate Change leads to $25,000 Award

Neville Peat, wildlife photographer and author of over 40 books, was presented with the new CLNZ Writer’s Award at the inaugural National Writers Forum, held in Auckland on 17 September. Neville receives $25,000, one of the highest non-fiction prizes in New Zealand literature, towards his project The Invading Sea. The book will cover the highly topical subject of climate-change science, focused on sea-level rise and what New Zealand can do to prepare for it. Neville specialises in writing on geography, biography, natural history and the environment.