CLNZ / NZSA Research Grant recipients 2016

Copyright Licensing New Zealand (CLNZ) and the New Zealand Society of Authors (NZSA) are pleased to announce that Research Grants have been awarded to four fascinating New Zealand writing projects that, according to the judges, have great potential and stood out even amongst many other promising applications.

Crimechurch: Southern authors sweep Ngaio Marsh Awards

It was a hometown quinella on Saturday night as Paul Cleave and Ray Berard were announced as the winners of the 2016 Ngaio Marsh Awards at the WORD Christchurch Writers and Readers Festival. 
Trust No One (Upstart Press), a mind-bending psychological thriller about a writer with early onset Alzheimer’s who starts confessing the murders in his novels were real, earned Cleave his record third Ngaio Marsh Award for Best Crime Novel. The judges described it as “a stunningly audacious novel that functions as a literary hall of mirrors” – a book that “succeeds brilliantly on many different levels”. 

2017 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards judges announced

The 2017 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards will be judged by 12 eminent academics, writers, journalists, librarians, curators, commentators and booksellers from around New Zealand, it is announced today.

For the first time, an international judge has also been invited to take a seat at the fiction ‘table,’ assisting the local judges of the Acorn Foundation Literary Award and taking the total number of judges to 13. The name of the international judge will be revealed early next year.

New Zealand’s poets of the future celebrated in National Schools Poetry Award

A North Shore student is the 2016 winner of the International Institute of Modern Letters’ National Schools Poetry Award, which coincides with National Poetry Day.

Mind Body Spirit Literary Award Winner and Former Sceptic Claims Existence of Afterlife

Literary works by a retired engineer and a yoga practitioner are the winners of the 2016 Ashton Wylie Mind Body Spirit Literary Awards, described by judges’ convenor Adonia Wylie, as an outstanding body of work from within the genre.
Nelson retired software engineer, Alastair Bruce Scott-Hill, won the Book Category, for The Paranormal is Normal published by Xcell Books. 

NZSA / Auckland Museum Research Grants 2016 Now Open for Applications

Two Writhers Research grants are now open for applications for writers working on a project that can utilise the considerable facilities and resources of the Auckland Museum Library as part of the manuscript’s development. These grants are offered by the Auckland Museum and NZ Society of Authors and can be used for fiction and non-fiction projects.
The NZSA / Auckland Museum Research Grants 2016 grants comprise: 
  • One National Grant of $4,000 supplemented by the option of 4 weeks funded accommodation at the Michael King Writers’ Centre in Devonport.One Auckland Regional Grant of $2,500 for writers from the Auckland region.

2016 CLNZ Contestable Fund: $75,000 Ready and Waiting

Copyright Licensing New Zealand has committed a minimum of $60,000 per annum, between 2015 and 2017, to be made available to writers and publishers from a dedicated Contestable Fund. CLNZ is pleased to announce that in 2016, $75,000 is available.
Inviting applications for 2016 Contestable Funding:
  • Applications open 15th July 2016
  • Application deadline is 5.00 p.m. on  16 September 2016
  • Application form and guidelines are available at "> 

Applications Invited For 2016 Katherine Mansfield Menton Fellowship

Established and mid-career New Zealand writers are invited to apply for the Katherine Mansfield Menton Fellowship 2016.
The Fellowship is one of New Zealand's longest-standing and most prestigious literary opportunities. In 2016 it offers a residency of three months or more in Menton, France during 2017 and an allowance of NZ$35,000 to cover return travel to France and living and accommodation expenses.
The support of the city of Menton enables a New Zealand author to work at the Villa Isola Bella, where Katherine Mansfield lived and wrote during the latter part of her life.

Applications open for $3,000 NZSA Janet Frame Memorial Award 2016

Calling all authors of poetry, literary and imaginative fiction.
The New Zealand Society of Authors Janet Frame Memorial award has run biennially since 2008, thanks to a gift from the Janet Frame Literary Trust, to support a mid-career or established writer. This prestigious award is open to authors of poetry, literary or imaginative fiction. 
In 2014 the award went to poet Elizabeth Smither who commented “It has been a great personal pleasure to have held this award. I don’t think of it being finite or confined to merely one year: I am sure the benefits will last through my whole career as a writer”. 

Best Book At PANZ Book Design Awards A “desirable Contemporary Classic”

The standout book at the 2016 PANZ Book Design Awards was James K. Baxter: Complete Prose. Shortlisted for Best Cover and Best Typography, it won the Upstart Press Award for Best Non-Illustrated Book for cover designer Spencer Levine, interior designer Fergus Barrowman, and publisher Victoria University Press. James K. Baxter: Complete Prose went on to win the coveted Gerard Reid Award for Best Book sponsored by Nielsen Book against competition from finalists in other categories.