Applications Invited For 2016 Katherine Mansfield Menton Fellowship

Established and mid-career New Zealand writers are invited to apply for the Katherine Mansfield Menton Fellowship 2016.
The Fellowship is one of New Zealand's longest-standing and most prestigious literary opportunities. In 2016 it offers a residency of three months or more in Menton, France during 2017 and an allowance of NZ$35,000 to cover return travel to France and living and accommodation expenses.
The support of the city of Menton enables a New Zealand author to work at the Villa Isola Bella, where Katherine Mansfield lived and wrote during the latter part of her life.

Applications open for $3,000 NZSA Janet Frame Memorial Award 2016

Calling all authors of poetry, literary and imaginative fiction.
The New Zealand Society of Authors Janet Frame Memorial award has run biennially since 2008, thanks to a gift from the Janet Frame Literary Trust, to support a mid-career or established writer. This prestigious award is open to authors of poetry, literary or imaginative fiction. 
In 2014 the award went to poet Elizabeth Smither who commented “It has been a great personal pleasure to have held this award. I don’t think of it being finite or confined to merely one year: I am sure the benefits will last through my whole career as a writer”. 

Best Book At PANZ Book Design Awards A “desirable Contemporary Classic”

The standout book at the 2016 PANZ Book Design Awards was James K. Baxter: Complete Prose. Shortlisted for Best Cover and Best Typography, it won the Upstart Press Award for Best Non-Illustrated Book for cover designer Spencer Levine, interior designer Fergus Barrowman, and publisher Victoria University Press. James K. Baxter: Complete Prose went on to win the coveted Gerard Reid Award for Best Book sponsored by Nielsen Book against competition from finalists in other categories. 

Anna Egan-Reid Wins Allen & Unwin Young Designer Of The Year Award

Controversially, the judges of the PANZ Book Design Awards 2016 decided not to nominate a shortlist for the Allen & Unwin Young Designer of the Year Award. Instead, Anna Egan-Reid (right) was announced as the unequivocal winner at the awards ceremony.  

Double homicide: 2016 Ngaio Marsh Award finalists revealed

A fading All Black, a teen runaway, a cop in witness protection, and a robotic private eye are among the memorable characters at the heart of novels named today as finalists for the 2016 Ngaio Marsh Awards. 
“We had a record number of entrants this year, which gave several headaches to our international judging panel,” says awards founder and Judging Convenor Craig Sisterson. “Not only are our local authors producing novels of exceptional international quality, they are breaking the shackles of convention and stretching the boundaries of genre to explore crime storytelling in unique and exciting ways. We were comparing apples with feijoas.”

Te Papa Tupu incubator for Maori Writers Kicks off for 2016

Friday July 8 saw six aspiring Te Papa Tupu writers converge on the Brentwood Hotel in Wellington, ready to begin their six months of writing incubation. Each from a different part of New Zealand, with diverse work and life backgrounds, the writers were a bundle of nerves and excitement as they arrived for a one-day workshop introducing them to the programme, each other and their mentors. 

Emerging writers to receive manuscript guidance

NZ Society of Authors is delighted to announce this year's CompleteMS recipients.
Thirteen writers with manuscripts spanning contemporary fiction, historical novels, crime / psychological narratives, poetry, short stories, speculative fiction and non-fiction have been chosen for the NZSACompleteMS programme. This programme gives each writer a detailed assessment and feedback on their manuscripts by one of New Zealand's leading assessors. 

NZ Society of Authors Heritage Writing Competition

The second annual collaboration between the New Zealand Society of Authors’ Canterbury Branch and Christchurch City Council’s Heritage Week has been announced. A national writing competition inspired by this year’s theme “Hidden Histories – our stories unearthed” is open to all New Zealand-based writers in the following categories:
1.         Heritage fiction (1st prize $1000). Entry Fee $35
2.         Heritage NonFiction (1st prize $1000) Entry Fee $35
3.          Prose Piece (Maximum 1800 words Theme Hidden Histories) (1st Prize $200)

Nathan Fa'avae wins Grand Prize at NZ Mountain Film & Book Festival

Potton & Burton are delighted to report that Nathan Fa'avae has been awarded the Grand Prize in the inaugural Book Competition at the NZ Mountain Film & Book Festival for his book Nathan Fa'avae Adventurer at Heart
The judges commented ‘This is wonderful tale and a must-read for all New Zealanders.’ 

Front Line Medical Staff Finalists in Mind Body Spirit Literary Awards

Works by a head and neck surgeon, a retired chest physician and a midwife are among the finalists of the Ashton Wylie Mind Body Spirit Literary Awards announced today. 
There are ten finalists, five in each of the two categories - for published works and unpublished manuscripts. Each category winner receives a $10,000 prize. 
Mind Body Spirit Literary Awards convenor of judges, Adonia Wylie, says the finalists are an impressive array, covering wide ranging subjects under the genre, from all over New Zealand.