Heidi North-Bailey joins 2016 Shanghai Writing Program

Heidi North-Bailey has been selected as the second New Zealand writer to join the Shanghai Writers’ Association’s International Writing Program. Heidi is an Auckland-based poet, short story and creative non-fiction writer. 
This opportunity is available through a partnership between the Michael King Writers’ Centre, the New Zealand China Friendship Society, the Shanghai Writers’ Association and the Shanghai People’s Association for Friendship with Foreign Countries.

Auckland Mayoral Writers Grant winner announced

Papatoetoe resident Grace Taylor has been awarded the second annual Auckland Mayoral Writers Grant.
Taylor's winning proposal was for City of Undone Darlings, a poetry collection intended for publication in paperback and as an e-book, and for performance.
Mayor Len Brown established the $12,000 grant in 2014 to capture Auckland life in the written word. It is awarded to local writers on completion of a quality text work about living in Auckland.
“I established this grant to support our local literary talent to capture our young city in the written word,” says Len Brown .

Elizabeth Smither wins Sarah Broom Poetry Prize

Congratulations to Elizabeth Smither, who has been awarded the 2016 Sarah Broom Poetry Prize, judged by globally acclaimed poet Paul Muldoon. 

Cross Sports Book Awards Recognise Kiwis

Kiwi rugby player’s debut novel lines up against Pulitzer winner for prestige award.
A former New Zealand Colt’s dark story about match-fixing is shortlisted alongside some of the writing world’s heaviest hitters in the UK’s prestigious Cross Sports Book Awards. John Daniell’s first novel The Fixer is in competition with a field of five others headed by William Finnegan’s Pulitzer prize-winning take on surfing, Barbarian Days, for the General Outstanding Sports Writing Award. The winner will be announced at Lord’s cricket ground on June 1.

2016 Commonwealth Short Story Prize - New Zealand Authors Announced as Regional Winners

The Commonwealth Writers Prize promotes strongest new stories from across the Commonwealth
Commonwealth Writers has announced the regional winners for this year’s Commonwealth Short Story Prize. The five stories have risen to the top of the 4,000 entries received this year. The New Zealand author, Tina Makereti, is the regional winner for the Pacific for her story ‘Black Milk’. Another regional winner, for Canada and Europe, is the UK-based, New Zealand born writer Stefanie Seddon, for her story ‘Eel’.

Sarah Broom Poetry Prize finalists announced

The three finalists in the Sarah Broom Poetry Prize 2016 are now known.
Now in its third year, the prize attracted over 200 entries from New Zealanders across the country and living overseas. This year the judge was Paul Muldoon, one of the world's leading contemporary poets, secured in partnership between the Sarah Broom Poetry Trust and the Auckland Writers Festival.

Text Prize for Young Adult and Children's Writing shortlist

Five manuscripts have been selected from 297 entries to make up the 2016 shortlist for the $10,000 Text Prize for Young Adult and Children’s Writing.
In 2016 Text was thrilled to have received the second-highest number of entries ever, including more than double the number of 2015 entries from New Zealand, and a large increase in entries for younger readers.
And the shortlistees are...
Eternal, by Sarah Bainbridge

Secondary school writers win mentorships with professional authors

Three talented secondary school students have been selected as winners of the NZ Society of Authors Youth Mentorship Programme 2016. NZSA’s Youth Mentorship Programme is offered to three young writers (15-18yrs) every year and the selected youths will spend the next few months honing their writing skills and developing their craft under the mentorship of three of New Zealand’s finest professional authors.  

Winners of IBBY Hans Christian Andersen Awards to visit New Zealand

The Storylines Children’s Literature Trust of New Zealand is delighted to confirm it will to be hosting the winners of the prestigious IBBY Hans Christian Andersen Awards, announced on 4 April at the Bologna Children’s Book Fair, at the biennial IBBY Congress in Auckland in August.
This is the first time that New Zealand will host the major international congress on children’s literature, to be held at Auckland’s Aotea Centre from 18-21 August.