Secondary school writers win mentorships with professional authors

Three talented secondary school students have been selected as winners of the NZ Society of Authors Youth Mentorship Programme 2016. NZSA’s Youth Mentorship Programme is offered to three young writers (15-18yrs) every year and the selected youths will spend the next few months honing their writing skills and developing their craft under the mentorship of three of New Zealand’s finest professional authors.  

Winners of IBBY Hans Christian Andersen Awards to visit New Zealand

The Storylines Children’s Literature Trust of New Zealand is delighted to confirm it will to be hosting the winners of the prestigious IBBY Hans Christian Andersen Awards, announced on 4 April at the Bologna Children’s Book Fair, at the biennial IBBY Congress in Auckland in August.
This is the first time that New Zealand will host the major international congress on children’s literature, to be held at Auckland’s Aotea Centre from 18-21 August.  

Magician bookseller wins Storylines Tessa Duder Award

Three new children’s book writers from Wellington, Havelock North and Auckland are the winners of prestigious awards and offers of publishing contracts at this year’s annual Storylines literary awards.
The awards have been presented today at the annual Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal Presentation and National Awards Day held in Auckland.

Churchill Fellowship open for 2016 applications

Community and Voluntary Sector Minister Jo Goodhew is welcoming the opening of applications for Churchill Fellowships for 2016. 
“I would encourage those who would like to test ideas with their counterparts overseas or observe new and emerging practices to get in and apply
“Churchill Fellowships enable recipients to travel overseas and connect with people in other places, share ideas and gain insights that lead to innovation and enhancement in New Zealand.
“They are an exciting way to learn more about topics that will benefit New Zealand communities as well as the individual,” Mrs Goodhew says. 

2016 Mentorships announced for writers and graphic novelists

Recipients have been selected for the New Zealand Society of Authors Mentorship Programme 2016 with 14 chosen from a pool of 73 applicants. With a high standard of applications and wide variety of fascinating projects, the selection panel had their work cut out for them.
The 2016 mentees are a diverse group of emerging writers spread across a wide range of genres including: memoir, non-fiction, contemporary/literary fiction, young adult, poetry, speculative fiction, short fiction collection, historical fiction, genre fiction (thriller) and graphic novels.

Storylines’ National Awards Shortlist Announced Today

The Storylines Children’s Literature Trust has today announced the shortlists for its three major national writers’ awards: the Joy Cowley Award for a picture book text, the Tom Fitzgibbon Award for a junior novel manuscript, and the Tessa Duder Award for a young adult novel manuscript. 
‘These prestigious national awards recognise and reward both established and emerging New Zealand writers of children’s literature.’ says Gillian Wess, Storylines Executive Officer. 

The Te Papa Tupu Writing Incubator is back!

Since 2010, The Māori Literature Trust and Huia Publishers have worked in conjunction to establish this unique writing opportunity for Māori writers. Chosen applicants will spend six months of 2016 working in partnership with a mentor to further develop their manuscript and improve their writing processes. All to meet the end goal of having a publishable manuscript.

Storylines Notable Books List announced

The Storylines Children’s Literature Trust is delighted to announce the 31 outstanding New Zealand children’s and teens’ books selected for its Notable Books listings for 2016.
The 2016 Notable Books (published during 2015) comprise
  • 4 Novels for Young Adults
  • 10 Children’s Novels
  • 10 Picture Books 
  • 7 works of Non-fiction.
The 31 titles selected represent a mix of many of New Zealand’s well-established authors and a significant number of new authors and self-published books

New Zealand literary talent recognised with prestigious fellowship

An “especially strong list of applicants” for New Zealand’s preeminent literary fellowship has been whittled down to two.

New Zealand writer and journalist Diana Wichtel and Dunedin writer Breton Dukes will share the 2016 Grimshaw Sargeson Fellowship.
Now in its 30th year, the Fellowship is a national literary award offering published New Zealand writers, both here and overseas, the opportunity to focus on their craft full-time, providing an annual stipend of $20,000 and tenure at the Sargeson Centre in Auckland.