The Scribe Non-fiction Prize for Young Writers

The Scribe Non-fiction Prize for Young Writers, now in its fourth year, is a unique development award to foster talented writers aged 30 and under writing longform work. Entries between 5,000 and 10,000 words are welcome across all nonfiction genres, including memoir, journalism, essay, and creative nonfiction
The winner receives:
  • a cash prize of $3000
  • an editorial mentorship to develop their work for publication
  • a generous selection of new-release Scribe books tailored to their reading interests.

Michael King Writers' Centre calls for Shanghai Writers' exchange applicants

New Zealand's literary exchange with China continues with the call for applications from New Zealand writers to attend the international writers programme run by the Shanghai Writers’ Association in September and October 2016.
The successful writer will receive free accommodation in an inner-city apartment, a small stipend for living expenses and return economy class air travel.
For the first time, New Zealand screenwriters may apply.

2016 Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement: call for nominations

Don’t miss your opportunity to nominate your pick of our finest writers for the 2016 Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement.
Every year New Zealanders are invited to nominate writers who have made a significant contribution to New Zealand literature in the categories of non-fiction, poetry or fiction. $60,000 is awarded in each genre.
New Zealand writers are also able to nominate themselves for the awards.
The nominations are assessed by an expert literary panel and recommendations forwarded to the Arts Council of Creative New Zealand for approval, with the awards presented in a formal ceremony.  

Call for Entries: The Bragg UNSW Press Prize for Science Writing and The Best Australian Science Writing 2016

Entries are now open for the Bragg Prize and the Best Australian Science Writing 2016 anthology.
Editor of the 2016 anthology Jo Chandler says, ‘We’re casting the net wide. The criteria? Great writing, robust science. You might be a student or a seasoned hack. You might be a blogger or a poet (or both) or an author. We want newspaper articles, book extracts, essays, longform and punchy snack-size pieces. Together they will become a blockbuster compendium of intrigue, humour, investigation, character, elation, frustration, creativity, narrative, news, and maybe even a little controversy.’

Youth Mentorship Programme Seeks Emerging Young Writers

Three secondary school students will each have the opportunity to be mentored by one of New Zealand’s best professional authors in order to develop their craft and hone their writing skills.
The NZSA Youth Mentorship Programme 2016 offers these aspiring young writers (aged 15-18) a mentorship, from May to November, giving them the opportunity to gain valuable skills and knowledge.
The intent of the mentor programme is to foster and develop emerging writing talent with the support of established authors.

Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust Book Awards open for entries

The $10,000 Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust Book Award is for a book in the Mind Body Spirit genre, published between April 1 and March 31. Deadline is 31 March, in any given year.
The $10,000 Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust Unpublished Manuscript Award is for a manuscript in the Mind Body Spirit genre. Deadline is March 31, in any given year.
Entries will be accepted from 15 January each year.
Application and criteria documents for the 2016 awards:

The Lie tree by Frances Hardinge named 2015 Costa Book of the Year

London, 20.30pm 26th January 2016:
Children’s book The Lie Tree, a Victorian murder mystery by Young Adult fiction and children’s author Frances Hardinge, has been named the 2015 Costa Book of the Year.  
The announcement was made on Tuesday 26th January at an awards ceremony held at Quaglino’s in central London.
The Lie Tree (Macmillan Children’s Books) is only the second children’s book to take the overall prize, and the first since Philip Pullman won with The Amber Spyglass in 2001. 

Writers apply now to NZ Society of Authors for mentorships

For your opportunity to be mentored by an established writer, poet, playwright or comic / graphic novelist - apply to NZ Society of Authors by 5 Feb.
The deadline is looming for applications to the NZ Society of Authors Mentor programme 2016. We are seeking applications from writers and comic / graphic novelists looking for professional development, a safe space to discuss their work, intellectual community, role models, accountability and substantive feedback. The programme runs between April and November 2016.

Sarah Broom Poetry Prize 2016 open for entries

The Sarah Broom Poetry Prize is New Zealand’s most valuable poetry prize and aims to recognise and financially support new work from an emerging or established New Zealand poet through a $12,000 award.
The prize was established in 2013 in honour of the New Zealand poet Sarah Broom (1972-2013), the author of Tigers at Awhitu (2010) and Gleam (2013). 
Entries open 5 January 2016 and close 18 February 2016