Collection of poetic biographies wins the Biggs Family Prize

A collection of five poetic biographies of famous and lesser-known historical New Zealand women has been awarded the 2015 Biggs Family Prize for Poetry.
Written by Nina Powles as part of her 2015 Master of Arts (MA) at Victoria University of Wellington’s International Institute of Modern Letters (IIML), the book-length folio, titled Luminescent, has been described by Wellington poet Jenny Bornholdt as “engaging and colourful and alive to all kinds of possibilities”. 

Inaugural Headland Prize & Frontier Prize Awarded

New Zealand-based literary e-journal, Headland, is proud to announce the recipients of the 2015 Headland prize for best story, and 2015 Frontier Prize for best story by an unpublished author:
2015 Headland Prize is awarded to Kathryn van Beek for ‘Frangipani’, Issue 2 ($200).
2015 Frontier Prize is awarded to Caoimhe McKeogh for ‘Lemon’, Issue 4 ($100). 

NZSA Lilian Ida Smith Award – Recipient Announced!

We are delighted to announce the winner of the NZSA Lilian Ida Smith Award 2015 is Auckland writer Caroline Barron.
With 73 entries for this award, the selection panel had a tough time deciding on a winner. The range and quality of the work submitted was impressive. Entries covered a broad range including novels, writing for children and young adults, poetry, drama, non-fiction and self-help books. Crime fiction, science fiction and fantasy were well represented. 

Tony Ballantyne wins inaugural W H Oliver prize for Entanglements of Empire

Auckland University Press is delighted to announce that Professor Tony Ballantyne is the winner of the New Zealand History Association’s inaugural W H Oliver prize. Tony is currently Chair of the History Department at the University of Otago and Director of the university’s Centre for Research on Colonial Culture. 
The judges described Entanglements of Empire as “an elegant and sophisticated work, which takes New Zealand historical scholarship to a new level of analysis and interpretation. 

For Writers! Apply now to be part of the NZSA Mentorship scheme

Apply now to be mentored by an established writer, poet, playwright or comic / graphic novelist.
The NZ Society of Authors Mentor programme for 2016 seeks applications from writers and comic / graphic novelists looking for professional development, a safe space to discuss their work, intellectual community, role models, accountability and substantive feedback.
This year, as part of our commitment to Creative New Zealand, we have tagged 3 mentorships for emerging writers identifying as Maori, Pacifika, and Asian.  

NZ teachers help select best educational resources for 2015: 2015 CLNZ Education Award winners named

Locally relevant, New Zealand content has won the vote of teachers around the country as well as awards from a panel of education experts. The recipients of the 2015 CLNZ Education Awards were announced at a ceremony in Auckland last night.
The CLNZ Education Awards are a celebration of the excellent resources New Zealand companies have recently released in the New Zealand education market. In 2015, classroom teachers from across New Zealand joined forces with a judging panel of education experts to add their choice of the best resources to the judge’s selection of award winning educational resources. 

Poet Anna Jackson awarded Katherine Mansfield Menton 2015 Fellowship

Congratulations to Anna Jackson who has been awarded the prestigious 2015 Katherine Mansfield Menton Fellowship.

Dunedin children’s literature expert wins top Storylines award

The 2015 Storylines Betty Gilderdale Award for outstanding service in the field of children’s literature has gone to Dunedin academic Trish Brooking.
“For more than two decades, Trish Brooking’s work at the University of Otago has had a far-reaching influence on children’s writing in this country,” says Storylines chair Dr Libby Limbrick.

JD Stout Fellow for 2016 announced

Emeritus Professor Atholl Anderson will be the John David Stout Fellow for 2016 at Victoria University of Wellington. The fellowship is hosted by the Stout Research Centre for New Zealand Studies and funded by the Stout Trust.
Victoria University’s Pro Vice-Chancellor of Humanities and Social Sciences, Professor Jennifer Windsor, says Victoria is delighted to host Emeritus Professor Anderson who has had a long and distinguished career.
“He is the author or editor of 26 books and innumerable scholarly papers. Tangata Whenua, which he co-authored with Judith Binney and Aroha Harris, won the Royal Society of New Zealand Science Prize this year.”

Alternative Bindings is excited to announce the 2016 The Wallace Arts Trust Prize short fiction contest

With the support of the Wallace Foundation we are awarding the following prizes in 2016 
•         $600 for the Wallace Arts Trust Prize Best Short Story; and 
•         $300 for the Wallace Arts Trust Runner-up Short Story.
The competition welcomes both emerging and established writers to share their stories based on the theme ‘A Kiwi Romance’ using a maximum of 750 words . 
Participation is the most valued aspect of this inaugural award, which is also supported by the GABA Trust.